Women's Life Stages – Understanding the Life of Women

A woman’s life cycle is quite varied, and each stage of life – frequently “marked by specific signs and symptoms, such as menstrual cramps, mood swings, hot flashes and weight gain”1  – involves special needs that have to be addressed. Knowing what lifestyle decisions to make can bring out the most of each period and help achieve good physical and mental health2.

What are the life stages of a woman?

As Yuko Takeda writes in her research paper, “life stages of a typical woman are divided into infancy, puberty (adolescence), sexual maturation (reproductive age), climacteric period, and post-climacteric (elderly) years”3. Let’s discuss them in greater detail.

unprotected sex advice
unprotected sex advice pregnancy test

Infancy and childhood

In this stage, babies explore their immediate surroundings, engage with the environment and discover their own identity and will4. Since this means also social and emotional growth – the most vital part being forming and strengthening bonds with their closest ones – apart from adequate nutrition and plenty of sleep, children need a lot of warmth and attention, as those earliest interactions will impact their future social behavior5.

Puberty

As girls in puberty undergo rapid bodily and psychological changes that help them reach a full-blown womanhood (e.g. changing body shape, accelerated growth, first periods, and significant emotional development), there can occur some health-related issues that demand special attention – both physical, such as problems with hair, irregular menstruation, or polycystic ovary, and psychological, such as anorexia6. Therefore, what is essential during this stage is reaching out for specialist help whenever needed, as well as having a balanced diet and maintaining an adequate intake of calcium, as this period is crucial for the bones7.

unprotected sex advice pregnancy test
unprotected sex advice pregnancy test

Reproductive age

This is the stage in which women, having already reached womanhood, can go through pregnancy and experience maternity. Although it may prove immensely joyous and fulfilling, the period can also be rather taxing and connected to some potential health issues, e.g. uterine bleeding and sexually transmitted diseases8. It is crucial, therefore, to take necessary preventive measures – regular screening for cervical cancer and health check-ups can help diagnose some of the conditions in their earliest stages. It’s also vital to receive specialist support (both physical and mental) throughout the pregnancy, as well as during and after childbirth.

Climacteric period and elderly years

As we can read on Cleveland Clinic’s website, climacteric “occurs when you’ve stopped producing the hormones that cause your menstrual period and have gone without a period for 12 months in a row. Once this has occurred, you enter postmenopause”12. In other words, it is a stage when ovulation stops, and pregnancy becomes impossible. Although climacteric is a natural and completely normal phenomenon, it may entail some health problems, such as menopausal symptoms (for example hot flashes, especially during the climacteric phase), osteoporosis, heart diseases, or even Alzheimer’s11,12. Fortunately, regular health check-ups, taking the right medication, and making good lifestyle choices can help maintain your body and mind in good condition13.

unprotected sex advice pregnancy test

References:

1- Mayo Clinic Staff. “Women’s life stages.” Mayo Clinic. 21 August 2019. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from:
https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/womens-health/basics/womens-life-stages/hlv-20049411.

2- Ibidem.

3- Takeda, Yuko. “Understanding the Life Stages of Women to Enhance Your Practice.” JMAJ 53(5): 273–278, 2010. Page 273. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from: https://www.med.or.jp/english/journal/pdf/2010_05/273_278.pdf.

4- Bedient, Suza. “The Growing of Girls.” Women’s Wilderness. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from:
https://womenswilderness.org/2017/03/31/growing-girls/.

5- “Child Development. Positive Parenting Tips.” Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Content source: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Page last reviewed on 29 November 2021. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from:
https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/childdevelopment/positiveparenting/infants.html.

6- “Women Life Stages and Health.” Paras Hospitals. 10 June 2017. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from:
https://www.parashospitals.com/blogs/women-life-stages-health/.

7- Ibidem.

8- Ibidem.

9- Ibidem.

10- “Postmenopause.” Cleveland Clinic. Last reviewed on 10 May 2021. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from:
https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/21837-postmenopause.

11- Taechakraichana, Nimit; Jaisamrarn, Unnop; Panyakhamlerd, Krasean; Chaikittisilpa, Sukanya; Limpaphayom, Khunying Kobchitt. “Climacteric: concept, consequence and care.” J Med Assoc Thai. 2002 Jun;85 Suppl 1:S1–15. National Library of Medicine. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from:
https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/12188398/.

12- “Postmenopause.” Cleveland Clinic. Last reviewed on 10 May 2021. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from: https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/21837-postmenopause.

13- Ibidem.

PP-PF-WHC-IQ-0017-1

SUPPORTED BY

A coalition of international partners with an interest in sexual and reproductive health

مراحل حياة المرأة – فهم حياة المرأة

تتباين دورة حياة المرأة إلى حدٍ كبير، كما أن كل مرحلة من الحياة "التي تميزها في كثير من الأحيان علامات وأعراض محددة، مثل تقلصات الدورة الشهرية، والتقلبات المزاجية، والهبّات الساخنة، وزيادة الوزن"1 – لها احتياجات خاصة يجب تلبيتها. بمعرفة قرارات نمط الحياة التي ينبغي اتخاذها، يمكن تحقيق أقصى استفادة من كل مرحلة والمساعدة في أن تكون صحة المرأة وحالتها النفسية جيدة2.

ما هي مراحل حياة المرأة؟

ذكرت "يوكو تاكيدا" في ورقتها البحثية: "تنقسم مراحل حياة المرأة النموذجية إلى مرحلة الطفولة، ثم مرحلة البلوغ (المراهقة)، ثم النضج الجنسي (سن الإنجاب)، ثم فترة انقطاع الطمث، ثم سنوات ما بعد انقطاع الطمث (الشيخوخة)"3. دعونا نناقش كل مرحلة بمزيد من التفصيل.

unprotected sex advice
unprotected sex advice pregnancy test

مرحلة الرضاعة والطفولة

في هذه المرحلة، يستكشف الأطفال الرضّع محيطهم القريب، وينخرطون داخل البيئة، ويكتشفون هويتهم ورغباتهم4. وحيث إن ذلك يعني أيضًا النمو الاجتماعي والعاطفي- الجزء الأكثر أهمية هو تكوين الروابط مع الأقارب وتقويتها - فبجانب التغذية الكافية والحصول على قسط وفير من النوم، يحتاج الأطفال إلى الكثير من الدفء والاهتمام، نظرًا لأن تلك التفاعلات المبكرة ستؤثر على سلوكهم الاجتماعي في المستقبل5.

مرحلة البلوغ

تمر الفتيات في فترة البلوغ بتغيرات جسدية ونفسية سريعة تساعدهن في الوصول إلى الأنوثة الكاملة (مثل تغير شكل الجسم، والنمو المتسارع، والدورات الشهرية الأولى، والتطور العاطفي الكبير)، ولكن قد تحدث أيضًا بعض المشكلات الصحية التي تتطلب اهتمامًا خاصًا - منها الجسدية مثل مشكلات الشعر، والحيض غير المنتظم، وتكيس المبيضين، ومنها النفسية مثل فقدان الشهية للطعام6. وبالتالي فمن الضروري خلال هذه الفترة الاستعانة بمتخصص كلما اقتضت الحاجة، بالإضافة إلى اتباع نظام غذائي متوازن والمحافظة على تناول كمية كافية من الكالسيوم، لأن هذه الفترة بالغة الأهمية للعظام7.

unprotected sex advice pregnancy test
unprotected sex advice pregnancy test

سن الإنجاب

هذه هي المرحلة التي يمكن للمرأة فيها أن تحمل وتجرب الأمومة بعد الاكتمال الفعلي للأنوثة. على الرغم من أن هذه الفترة قد تكون مُرضية ومبهجة للغاية، إلا أنها قد تكون مرهقة وقد ترتبط ببعض المشكلات الصحية المحتملة، منها على سبيل المثال نزيف الرحم والأمراض المنقولة جنسيًا8. ولذلك فمن المهم للغاية اتخاذ التدابير الوقائية الضرورية - يمكن للفحص الدوري لسرطان عنق الرحم والفحوصات الصحية المساعدة في تشخيص بعض الحالات في مراحلها المبكرة9. ومن المهم للغاية أيضًا تلقي الدعم (الجسدي والنفسي على حدٍ سواء) من متخصص طوال الحمل، وأثناء الولادة وبعدها.

فترة انقطاع الطمث وسنوات الشيخوخة

تحدث مرحلة انقطاع الطمث وفقًا لموقع كليفلاند كلينيك: "عندنا يتوقف جسمك عن إنتاج الهرمونات التي تسبب الدورة الشهرية وتنقطع الدورة الشهرية لمدة 12 شهرًا متتالية.  بمجرد حدوث ذلك، تكونين في مرحلة ما بعد انقطاع الطمث10. وبمعنى آخر، هي المرحلة التي يتوقف فيها التبويض ويصبح الإنجاب مستحيلاً. على الرغم من أن مرحلة انقطاع الطمث هي مرحلة طبيعية وظاهرة عادية تمامًا، إلا أنها قد تنطوي على بعض المشكلات الصحية (مثل الهبّات الساخنة، وخصوصاً خلال مرحلة انقطاع الطمث)، أو هشاشة العظام، أو أمراض القلب، أو حتى الزهايمر11,12. ولحسن الحظ، فإن الفحوصات الصحية الدورية، وتناول الأدوية الصحيحة، واتخاذ خيارات نمط حياة جيدة يمكنها مساعدتك في الحفاظ على صحة جسدك وعقلك13.

unprotected sex advice pregnancy test

المراجع:

1- Mayo Clinic Staff. “Women’s life stages.” Mayo Clinic. 21 August 2019. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from:
https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/womens-health/basics/womens-life-stages/hlv-20049411.

2- Ibidem.

3- Takeda, Yuko. “Understanding the Life Stages of Women to Enhance Your Practice.” JMAJ 53(5): 273–278, 2010. Page 273. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from: https://www.med.or.jp/english/journal/pdf/2010_05/273_278.pdf.

4- Bedient, Suza. “The Growing of Girls.” Women’s Wilderness. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from:
https://womenswilderness.org/2017/03/31/growing-girls/.

5- “Child Development. Positive Parenting Tips.” Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Content source: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Page last reviewed on 29 November 2021. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from:
https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/childdevelopment/positiveparenting/infants.html.

6- “Women Life Stages and Health.” Paras Hospitals. 10 June 2017. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from:
https://www.parashospitals.com/blogs/women-life-stages-health/.

7- Ibidem.

8- Ibidem.

9- Ibidem.

10- “Postmenopause.” Cleveland Clinic. Last reviewed on 10 May 2021. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from:
https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/21837-postmenopause.

11- Taechakraichana, Nimit; Jaisamrarn, Unnop; Panyakhamlerd, Krasean; Chaikittisilpa, Sukanya; Limpaphayom, Khunying Kobchitt. “Climacteric: concept, consequence and care.” J Med Assoc Thai. 2002 Jun;85 Suppl 1:S1–15. National Library of Medicine. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from:
https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/12188398/.

12- “Postmenopause.” Cleveland Clinic. Last reviewed on 10 May 2021. Retrieved on 7 February 2022 from: https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/21837-postmenopause.

13- Ibidem.

PP-PF-WHC-IQ-0017-1

بدعم من

اتحاد شركاء دوليين مهتمين بالصحة الجنسية والإنجابية